Wrist Strength – The Catcher Pin Lever

March 14, 2011

* An older article of mine:

Whilst I’ve worked on my grip for some time now I’ve always overlooked working the wrists and just recently it dawned on me how weak my wrists actually are after being inspired by card tearing and only managing to tear 20.

I purchased a 10lb sledgehammer some time ago to perform sledge hammer levers but it seems I was a bit too confident since it was too much weight for me at any acceptable grip position on the handle.

Today it dawned on me that it was about time to start some levering with some kind of object to cover all bases of hand strength. An idea came about in an instant; use power rack catcher pins.

As luck would have it it fits snugly into a 1 inch standard plate (secured with a collar) to allow for progressive overload.

The pin can also double as a large loading pin for vertical bar lifts.

The loaded pin:

wrist strength grip training catcher pin lever daniel evans

The Catcher Pin Lever:

wrist strength grip training catcher pin lever daniel evans

 

visit my gripshop for hand grippers grippers atomgripz

Leave a Reply

